The Day the Music Died

228975_138282686261335_3034154_nMost of us will never forget where we were June 25, 2009, the day Michael Jackson died. It’s something that is etched in my mind forever, similar to when John Kennedy and Robert Kennedy died. I specifically remember I was turning right onto a busy corner and heard “Michael Jackson dead at age 50” and then remembering not much else after that.  I parked (a feat in itself in downtown Toronto) with tears streaming down my face.  I was in utter shock. I it was like hearing a close member of my family died and my heart literally broke.  My throat closed up and I could not speak or breathe.  How could this be.  It must be a prank, a joke… Sadly it was not and reality set in.

I was sure that there would never be another dance, song or voice that would ever compare to MJ’s and I was right.  I have tried to watch and listen to the “upcoming stars”  that are winning the awards and have #1 hits on the radio.  No one, in my lifetime and I believe my children’s lifetime, will ever have the “gift” Michael had and the goals he achieved in his short life. There are the Ushers and the  Chris Browns but in every gesture, every dance step, you see Michael.  He is in every singer and dancer today and I know he is looking down from heaven and smiling at this.  He loved it when children, fans and dancers copied his moves, he was that giving, that loving and that humble.

I will never be the same with Michael gone, it has changed me in both a positive and negative way.  I must, however look at the positive.  I have met some beautiful people who love Michael as much as I, there is a bond that no one can understand unless you are part of it, “the MJ family” as it is known.  Yes, there is mistrust and sometimes disrespect in the community but there is also an abundance of L.O.V.E.  I have always been proud to be a fan of Michael Jackson, my love for him began with “Ben” and has never ended.  His music is part of my life and my children’s life.  His legacy will never die.

One of the most glorious introductions every written about Michael had to, in my opinion, come from Sir Bob Geldof, a humanitarian himself,  at the 1996 Brit Awards when giving MJ  “Artist of the Generation Award”

“He is probably the most famous person on the planet, God help him. He has also sold more records than anyone on the planet and he has also written, recorded and performed some of the most glorious music in the pop canon, so they had to dream up an award to give him tonight and they came up with the “Artist of the Generation Award” but Michael Jackson has been making music literally since he was a baby. So what generation? At least three have been listening to him already and who will they give it to next year? Or is the award a one-off like the man himself because from a childhood prodigy to adult genius when Michael Jackson sings it is the voice of angels and when his feet move, you can see God dancing. So tonight the Brits “Artist of the Generation” is of course, Michael Jackson……”

I will never let you part for you’re always in my heart.  RIP MJ

,

  1. #1 by ettelra on June 26, 2013 - 12:30 am

    That is so true! I can never look at today’s artists because no one is like MJ. 😦

  2. #2 by mjsangel on June 26, 2013 - 2:17 am

    RIP MJ
    You will always be in my heart 😦

Leave a Reply

