“Beat Me, Hate Me, You Can Never Break Me!

I find it very interesting that the comments I have received since I started this blog and 
the Stop Global Airwave Abuse campaign have ranged from the kindest remarks to the most hateful and disturbing I have ever read anywhere.

It seems I have hit a nerve with my posts entitled “The Dean Blundell Show Sanctioned by the CBSC” https://stopglobalairwaveabuse.wordpress.com/2011/11/20/the-dean-blundell-show-sanctioned-by-the-cbsc/. This post covered how Mr. Blundell had been sanctioned a total of three times for a) Insubordination; b) Violating the Code of Ethics and c) Equitable Portrayal Code which prohibits the sexualization of children in broadcasting. I received two comments that were, to say the least, graphic and disturbing.

The other post was “Dean Blundell (Links to the Show)” the-dean-blundell-show-links-to-the-show. In this post, I discussed how and where you could contact the Canadian Contact Broadcast Council and the Canadian Radio Telecommunication Commission with complaints about this show and any other radio show that slander or defame someone on the airwaves. I also named the owner of the radio station and the contacts as well as the daily recordings of the this show along with the a You tube specifically linked to their shows on Michael Jackson. In this particular case I pointed out that the above show had maliciously slandered and ridiculed Michael Jackson throughout his career and his death.A comment I got a few days ago on this particular post was quite graphic.

I posted these comments because I do not believe in censorship as the person who commented on my last post so “eloquently “advised me I did. I am proud to live in Canada and am grateful that I have freedom of speech just as the media does on a daily basis. I believe in fair and truthful reporting on Michael Jackson, the deceased, the handicapped and anyone that cannot speak for themselves. If that is censorship I must not understand the definition correctly.

I have not censored these posts because I do believe in freedom of speech and I wanted readers to see how the listeners of radio shows like these behave and reply. I think I have been very generous in allowing these responses on my blog, however the last post I received has left a bitter taste in my mouth. It seems the lack of education based upon their vocabulary shows me that the only way they can reply to my opinions are to make them of a sexual content.  I would think that our education system would make it easy for one to write a proper sentence that is fair and meaningful when responding to an opinion, however this is not the case. For the reader to say that I believe in censorship must not have read what I wrote at all. I never once stated “Censorship” as part of my fight against airwave abuse. Perhaps they should look up the definition of the word and/or read it at the bottom of the page.

I will continue to fight for an unbiased media and hope one day our children and our children’s children will hear the truth without slandering, ridiculing or defaming any human being.  When one takes away the dignity of one, they take away the dignity of all!

Definition: Censorship “is the suppression of speech or other public communication which may be considered objectionable, harmful, sensitive, or inconvenient to the general body of people as determined by a government, media outlet, or other controlling body.”

Slander is a poison which kills charity, both in the slanderer and the listener – St. Bernard

  1. #1 by Cadeflaw on January 22, 2012 - 10:22 am

    I think it’s great that you allow everyone to post their comments, good or bad. It’s an example, to the world, that this blog is very fair and is not an attempt to STOP free speech but an action to curtail ugliness on the airwaves. Good for you. This is a very enlightening article and I hope people will glean from it the full measure of the intent.

    Slander is a poison which kills charity, both in the slanderer and the listener – St. Bernard

    His reputation is his property, and, if possible, more valuable than other property.
    Malins, V.-C., Dixon v. Holden (1869), L. R. 7 Eq. 492.

    • #2 by SGAA on January 22, 2012 - 6:05 pm

      Thank you so much for your comment. It means a lot coming from an organization that is doing something that I truly believe in and support whole heartedly. I do not censor nor will I ever censor any reply I get on this blog. I will fight to stop this insanity that continues to travel through the airwaves.

      “Other famous men, those of much talk and few deeds, soon evaporate. Action is the dignity of greatness.”
      Jose Marti

  2. #3 by MJJJusticeProject on January 22, 2012 - 5:48 pm

    Unbelievable!

  3. #4 by Barbara on January 22, 2012 - 9:52 pm

    Thank you for this post and making us aware. I tried to listen to one of the links you listed, but after a few moments I had to stop listening. It is difficult to remember that there is so much hate toward Michael Jackson. The things being said on that show were disgusting and not true. Their “jokes” were mean and ugly and vulgar. Free speech is a privilege, and people must be held accoutnable for their words. To take aim at those who can no longer defend themselves is something cowards and the ignorant engage in. Groups such as yours and Cadeflaw are necessary to try to bring some decency and integrity back to the airwaves.

Leave a Reply

